Prompted – Have I really never posted about our book?

Posted on July 28, 2012

0


I should really update this more often, which wouldn’t be that hard since I’m currently at a 2-posts-per-year pace. And as I was looking over this blog today (and spending about 45 minutes trying to remember my login information), I realized that I never even posted about something which I couldn’t be more proud of.

<i>Prompted, An International Collection of Poems</i> is an anthology filled with remarkable poetry by some of the most moving and gifted poets I have come to know over the past few years. It also includes three of my poems, and I co-authored the Introduction to the book. It was published this past December, and it is available online via places like Amazon and Barnes & Noble – a pretty cool feeling.

On Amazon, you can simply search for the word “prompted” and it will come up. Or I guess you could just click here.

The title comes from the fact that the poems included in the anthology are prompt poems – poems first written in direct response to a given prompt (which are all listed and organized within the book), and then later edited and finished. Most of those prompts were courtesy of Poetic Asides, a writing community overseen by Writer’s Digests’s Robert Lee Brewer, who also edits the annual  Writer’s Market and Poet’s Market books. The book includes a foreword by Robert, as well, which includes this kind excerpt:

“When I look over the table of contents, I see poets who are spread around the country – and even the planet – who all share a love of poetry. – Prompted is filled with incredible poems by amazing poets.”

Each poet is different and has his/her own style, but they all have a few things in common – a deeply rooted love of poetry, a need to write poetry that they simply can’t help, and incredible talent when it comes to the craft. Hit up the link to Amazon if you want to check it out (all the profits from the book go to charity, not to any of the authors), or just message me and I’ll probably just send you a copy.

mM.

Posted in: Uncategorized